After a total thyroidectomy and being on Levothyroxin, I was having head-meets-desk energy problems every day. Take prescription thyroxine, or T4 hormone replacements such as Synthroid and Levothyroxine. I'm also older now though but thyroid troubles are crap! I work full time as an oncology nurse. And if you are not replacing it adequately you will continually gain weight and/or have difficulty losing weight (usually both). You are now HYPOTHYROID. With that in mind, here are 5 things that I think you should know if you've had your thyroid removed based on THIS experience. In fact, both my dad and my aunt have had a thyroidectomy, so Im very familiar with what happens during and after, so I can surely help you today. I was on levothyroxine, but my levels werent going down at one point my tsh was 5.12. If the measurement is made at rest, it is known as the basal metabolic rate (BMR). Yes, some people will see their weight slightly increase, but weight may remain unchanged, or you may even lose weight. Either source will work but make sure you do NOT neglect this step! (Armor, NATURE throid, etc) I FEEL AMAZING! This explains why patients gain weight after a complete thyroidectomy. Triiodothyronine is one of the types of thyroid hormones, but it is not typically replaced with prescription hormones because it is not as prevalent. Thyroid and weight FAQs. Physical therapists and endocrinologists alike suggest low-impact cardio exercise, especially to start out. Its primary purpose is to make and secrete thyroid hormones, which tell cells how to use and store energy.. Is Weight Gain After Thyroid Removal Inevitable? You burn calories through physical activity and by performing your daily activities. You might want to get your levels tested. In fact, women, on average, gain around 20 pounds after they get their thyroid removed according to several studies(1) which looked into the matter. Not sure what advise I can really give - but stay positive and open minded. We offer